The Mark of Athena

Friday, October 12, 2012

Annabeth is terrified. Just when she’s about to be reunited with Percy—after six months of being apart, thanks to Hera—it looks like Camp Jupiter is preparing for war. As Annabeth and her friends Jason, Piper, and Leo fly in on the Argo II, she can’t blame the Roman demigods for thinking the ship is a Greek weapon. With its steaming bronze dragon masthead, Leo’s fantastical creation doesn’t appear friendly. Annabeth hopes that the sight of their praetor Jason on deck will reassure the Romans that the visitors from Camp Half-Blood are coming in peace.

And that’s only one of her worries. In her pocket Annabeth carries a gift from her mother that came with an unnerving demand: Follow the Mark of Athena. Avenge me. Annabeth already feels weighed down by the prophecy that will send seven demigods on a quest to find—and close— the Doors of Death. What more does Athena want from her?

Annabeth’s biggest fear, though, is that Percy might have changed. What if he’s now attached to Roman ways? Does he still need his old friends? As the daughter of the goddess of war and wisdom, Annabeth knows she was born to be a leader, but never again does she want to be without Seaweed Brain by her side. - Goodreads


Released on October 2, 2012, I got my copy on Oct. 4,2012 and finished reading it on Oct. 5th. The Mark of Athena picks up where The Son of Neptune left off wherein the Greek demigods onboard with their new ship The Argo sailed unto Camp Jupiter. I don't want to divulge any additional information anymore what happens at the end of The Son of Neptune but after reading this book my first reaction was Why? Why did you make that cliffhanger Mr. Riordan and have us wait for another year for the next installment? ugh!

Fans of The Heroes of Olympus series and Rick Riordan will be 100% satisfied with this 3rd installment. Of course, this book still has the element of heroes fighting random monsters and plenty of Percabeth (Percy + Annabeth) moments. Honestly, I am more of a Jason + Piper team but I won't object for Percabeth romantic moments. But mind you, those two couples are not the only one that spiced up this book because there's a brewing love triangle between Frank, Hazelle and Leo and they contributed to most of the humor scenes and the best lines on this book. Damn! I think I like Leo already. He's the coolest character among the seven.

If you have read The Percy Jackson series before, we know for a fact that the chapters are written on a certain person's point of view. So in this third installment, we would be able to see the real characters beyond their pretenses. It's a good thing to know that they already matured and cared for each other in spite of their differences.

Finishing the book makes me conclude that Annabeth is definitely one of the seven and I was thinking that Nico is not the person we thought he was. As much as I like Nico, I have this premonition that he is working for the enemy. I mean, he knows both camps exists and he had visited their locations but he did not mentioned any of this to his friends. How weird was that? The only thing I was sure of is that he loved his sister Bianca too much and maybe his death created a dark hole inside that's starting to build and is waiting to be released. 

Nonetheless, The Mark of Athena did not disappoint me. I was amazing and was beautifully written. The sad part was that, I have to wait for next year for The House of Hades and perhaps will re-read every installment again before it come out to refresh my memory. Waiting for this book to come was torture and now I have to endure it again for the 4th installment.

You Might Also Like